Yunhai-1 03 | Long March 2D

Featured image credit: Ren Hui / Xinhua Lift Off Time September 20, 2022 – 23:15 UTC September 21, 2022 – 07:15 BJT Mission Name Yunhai-1 03, a Chinese weather satellite Launch Provider(What rocket company launched it?) China Aerospace Science and Technology Corporation (CASC) Customer(Who paid for this?) Unknown, probably the Chinese Government Rocket Long March … Read more

Live long and prosper: A space traveler’s dilemma?

Space medical scientists are pushing for the development of an international database on long-term health effects of spaceflight. This is essential for protecting the health and performance of current and future crew members of all nationalities, as well as defining the long-term health consequences for retired crew members across the globe. That said, there are … Read more

ChinaSat 1E | Long March 7A

Featured image credit: CASC Lift Off Time September 13, 2022 – 13:18 UTC | 21:18 BJT Mission Name ChinaSat 1E (also known as Zhongxing 1E) Launch Provider(What rocket company launched it?) China Aerospace Science and Technology Corporation (CASC) Customer(Who paid for this?) China Satellite Communications Rocket Long March 7A Launch Location LC-201, Wenchang Space Launch … Read more

The long history of using maps to hold water companies accountable

Recent sewage dumps in rivers (left) and along the coast (right) in south east England. The Rivers Trust (left) and Surfers Against Sewage (right). Credit: University College London Southern Water was handed a record fine of £90 million in July 2021 after pleading guilty to illegally discharging sewage along the rivers and coastline of Kent, … Read more

Wentian | Long March 5B

Featured image: CMSA Lift Off Time July 24, 2022 – 06:22:32 UTC | 14:22:32 BJT Mission Name Wentian, China’s modular space station’s laboratory module Launch Provider(What rocket company launched it?) China Aerospace Science and Technology Corporation (CASC) Customer(Who paid for this?) China Academy of Launch Vehicle Technology (CALT) Rocket Long March 5B (CZ-5B) Launch Location … Read more

Wentian | Long March 5B

Featured image: Tu Haichao/for chinadaily.com.cn Lift Off Time(Subject to change) July 24, 2022 – 06:20 UTC | 14:20 BJT Mission Name Wentian, China’s modular space station’s laboratory module Launch Provider(What rocket company is launching it?) China Aerospace Science and Technology Corporation (CASC) Customer(Who’s paying for this?) China Academy of Launch Vehicle Technology (CALT) Rocket Long … Read more

China’s heavy-lift Long March 5B rocket rolls out with new space station module – Spaceflight Now

The Long March 5B rocket slated to launch the Wentian module to China’s space station emerges from its assembly building Monday at the Wenchang launch base on Hainan Island. Credit: CMSE China moved a heavy-lift Long March 5B rocket to its launch pad Monday in preparation for liftoff this weekend with a 22-ton module for … Read more

Tiny limbs and long bodies: Coordinating lizard locomotion

Credit: Georgia Institute of Technology Snakes and lizards have distinct body movement patterns. Lizards bend from side to side as they retract their legs to walk or run. Snakes, on the other hand, slither and undulate, like a wave that travels down the body. However, there are species of lizards that have long, snakelike bodies, … Read more

We helped track 77 species for up to 60 years to try to reveal the secrets of long life. Some don’t seem to age at all

Credit: Mike Gardner, author provided Ever wondered about the secret to a long life? Perhaps understanding the lifespans of other animals with backbones (or “vertebrates”) might help us unlock this mystery. You’ve probably heard turtles live a long (and slow) life. At 190 years, Jonathan the Seychelles giant tortoise might be the oldest land animal … Read more

Shenzhou 14 | Long March 2F

Featured image: Xinhua Lift Off Time June 5, 2022 – 02:44 UTC | 10:44 BJT Mission Name Shenzhou 14 Launch Provider(What rocket company launched it?) China Aerospace Science and Technology Corporation (CASC) Customer(Who paid for this?) China National Space Administration (CNSA) Rocket Long March 2F Launch Location LA-4/SLS-1, Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center, Gobi Desert, China … Read more